Web Resources

The following is a list of various web resources for buckskinning. mountain man, and related historical subjects. Whenever possible, testimonial information will be included from buckskinning.org users to give insight into how valuable these resources really are.

Other Buckskinners on the web

Ron “Doc” Obenhaus – http://www.robenhaus.host22.com/ – Check out Doc’s Beginner’s Page for great tips on getting started in buckskinning.

Talking Bear – http://www.talking-bear.com/

Crazy Coyote’s page – http://members.tripod.com/gazingcyot/index.htm – Crazy is a man who truly has and continues to walk the walk. He is hard core and very, very good in terms of his skills and regular wilderness experiences.

Weapon suppliers

Loyalist Arms – http://www.loyalistarms.com – One of the best suppliers of period-correct weaponry, more on the military side, going all the way back to the late 1600s!

North Star West – http://www.northstarwest.com

Track of The Wolf – http://www.trackofthewolf.com – They offer consignment guns through their website – some great one-of-a-kind pieces. Check often.

Blacksmith Dennis Miles – http://www.bright.net/~deforge1/ – A good number of our members own knives and other plunder made by Dennis. He is period correct, not something that can be said of many blacksmith, even those in Texas, and hard-core to the bottom of his soul. Take a look at his site and browse a bit. You might find that you need a Miles blade or other period correct item made right and true.

Magazines

Backwoodsman – http://www.backwoodsmanmag.com – A great magazine and an indispensable resource for the “21st-Century frontiersman”

Muzzleloader – http://www.muzzleloadermag.com – Probably the best primitive shooting magazine available

 

Suppliers

Wooden Hawk Trading Co. – http://www.woodenhawk.com

YaTaHai Beads & Buckskin/SparrowHawk Publishing – http://www.yatahai.com – Custom, handstitched, deer or elk clothing and moccasins. A wide range of styles, many color and decoration choices! Limited only by your imagination! We produce a line of nine (9) original Moccasin Patterns. A manual for designing/sewing your own clothing: Buckskin Basics & Workbook. All questions are welcome, we understand your order is special to you and work with you to make sure you get exactly what you have in mind! Email anytime or call 253-926-1200.

Historic Costume – http://www.historic-costume.com – a great reenactor’s online source for inexpensive costumes

The Texas Sutler – http://www.texassutler.com/shop/

Crazy Crow Trading Post – http://www.crazycrow.com

Track of The Wolf – http://www.trackofthewolf.com

Dixie Gun Works – http://www.dixiegunworks.com/ – a lot of their products lean more towards the Civil War reenactor, but their catalog is a great one-stop resource

Jas. Townsend and Son, Inc. – http://jastown.com/ – Great selection and a really nice eComm website

Panther Primitives – http://www.pantherprimitives.com – Some of the best customer service in the industry

Carl Dyers Mocaissins – http://www.carldyers.com/

Fugawee – http://www.fugawee.com/ – brogans, etc.

Downwind Trading Company – http://www.downwindtrading.com/

Oakhill Enterprises – http://www.frontiernet.net/~oakhill/

Bradley Company of The Fox – http://www.bradleycompanyofthefox.com/main.html

Calapooia Traders – http://www.ctraders.com/ – mainly 18th century goods – great website

Buckhorn Trading – http://www.buckhorntrading.com/

Walt Moreau Online – http://www.moreau.com/ – supllier of authentic period items and weapons

Clearwater Hat Company – http://www.clearwaterhats.com/

Lodge info

Don Strinz Tipi – http://www.strinz.com/tipi/ – good quality and service – ordered a diamond shelter from here and it is bomb-proof

Tentsmiths – http://tentsmiths.com/

Stitches of Old Tymes – http://www.stitchesofoldtymes.com/ – Kevin Kesler – aka “Stitch” – is an Indiana-based tent maker and has been a buckskinner for over two decades. His company also specializes in camp gear & horse tack.

Neat stuff

Cathy Smith – http://www.cathyasmith.com/repro.htm repro for museums

Ethnobotany – http://herb.umd.umich.edu/

Modern Hard Tack – http://www.backpacker.com/article/0,2646,2100,00.html

Musket cleaning kit – http://www.nwta.com/couriers/11-96/clean.html

Native American Technology and Art – http://www.nativetech.org/

Glossary of Mountain Man Terms – http://www.xmission.com/~drudy/amm/gloss.html

Building the Osage Bow – http://www.osageorange.com/

General survival info – http://www.equipped.com/srvskl.htm – nice to know when traveling afield

General living history resources – http://www.geocities.com/livinghistoryresources/
Learn about Pewter – http://www.ramshornstudio.com/pewter.htm

Wampum – http://www.wampumkeeper.com/wkexplore.html

Buckskinning and reenactment organizations

Living History.net – http://www.living-history.net – Resources for reenactors from 1750-1865 with an extensive list of events

New Jersey Frontier Guard – http://www.frontierguard.org/

Fort Buenaventura Mountain Men – http://fortbuenaventuramountainmen.org/

The American Mountain Men – http://www.xmission.com/~drudy/amm/index.html

Requirements – http://www.xmission.com/~drudy/amm/bosloper.html

Historical Trekking – http://www.historicaltrekking.com/

Texian Legacy Association – http://www.texianlegacy.com

Amohkail Creek – http://amohkali.southeasterntrading.com/index.htm

To submit your website to this list or to report a broken or changed link, please e-mail webmaster@buckskinning.org

 

Buckskinning.org

 

For the Lakota there was no wilderness. Nature was not dangerous but hospitable, not forbidding but friendly.”
– Luther Standing Bear